Masami Kawahara & The Exotic Sounds, Ecstasy
(0 review)

2020 09 15
1LP - Beat Ball Music

50.00 € 50.0 EUR 50.00 € VAT Excluded

50.00 € VAT Excluded

Not Available For Sale

    This combination does not exist.


    A1 Temptation

    A2 Manha De Carnaval

    A3 Taboo

    A4 Jungle Drums

    A5 Swahili

    A6 Hombre Y Mujer

    B1 Mit Day Lagoon

    B2 Nightingale

    B3 The Voodoo

    B4 Flamingo

    B5 Emiliano Zapata

    B6 Poinciana


    180gram HQ press in RTI

    Remastered from the 1st generation Nippon Columbia master tape by Dave Cooley (Elysian Masters)

    Old school style tip-on gatefold jacket with OBI strip

    Insert features interview notes with Masami Kawahara (Japanese & English)

    The 1970 erotic lounge record by Japanese maestro of percussion, Masami Kawahara, reissued now!

    The present record is a standout work amid the myriad records of the x-rated / lounge genre of the 1960s and 1970s that catered to adult audiences in both the east and the west. Masami Kawahara, who was a mainstay in both the jazz and pop scenes in Japan, brought together musicians including Akira Ishikawa, Masaoki Terakawa, and Jake H. Concepcion for this recording. As would be expected of such a stellar and diverse lineup of performers, the tracks boast a unique and eclectic mix of musical elements spanning Latin, soul jazz, Afrobeat, and psychedelic styles. The erotic moods conjured up through various sound effects and female moans / scat vocals are sure to evoke pleasure, as well as some bashfulness, in listeners. This record, which had often been categorized under the mondo / bizarre slot and was only found in the collections of a handful of cult fans, was rediscovered by Japanese DJs during the 1990s and subsequently attracted the attention of collectors around the world. A bizzare and idiosyncratic work that could only have been created during the 20th century (and the 1970s at that), it has now been reissued on vinyl for the first time ever!