Lula Côrtes & Ze Ramalho, Paebiru
(0 review)

BACK IN STOCK => 2021 11 19

30.00 € 30.0 EUR 30.00 € VAT Excluded

30.00 € VAT Excluded

Not Available For Sale

    This combination does not exist.



    A1 Trilha De Sumé

    A2 Culto À Terra

    A3 Bailado Das Muscarias


    B1 Harpa Dos Ares

    B2 Não Existe Molhado Igual Ao Pranto

    B3 Omm


    C1 Raga Dos Raios

    C2 Nas Paredes Da Pedra Encantada

    C3 Marácas De Fogo


    D1 Louvação A Iemanjá

    D2 Regato Da Montanha

    D3 Beira Mar

    D4 Pedra Templo Animal

    D5 Trilha De Sumé


    Mr Bongo official reissue. 2-LP pressing, finished to exactly match the original release, including the 8 page jacket size booklet.

    Vinyl version unsealed.

    The album is a collaboration between Brazilian artists Lula Côrtes and Zé Ramalho, a wonderfully off-kilter record full of fantastic hooky and strange tunes that range from full-on freakouts to quiet pastoral numbers displaying the entire range of 1970s hippie Brazilian musician culture.

    Paebiru is an obscure Brazilian psych concept album about the four elements that was lost to time in a warehouse fire in 1974. This led to it becoming a massively sought-after classic, fetching up to $4,000 for original vinyl copies.

    Lula, who composed and played on the tracks sadly passed away in 2011 after fighting a long battle with cancer.

    Paebiru offers a very atmospheric blend of both artists' sensibilities: sung and chanted vocals are no more or less important than any of the other elements, which include classical acoustic and fuzzy electric guitar, piano, organ, flute, sax and a range of percussion. It's free and psychedelic, but just reigned in enough to keep it tense and exciting.