28 Little Bangers From Richard Hawley's Jukebox

(0 avis)

BIS => 2 / 3 WEEKS

34,00 € 34.0 EUR 34,00 € hors TVA

34,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Format: 2 LP
Date de parution: 2023


Side 1
01   Hornet's Nest - Curtis Knight & The Squires feat. Jimi Hendrix
02   Nasty - The Timekeepers
03   Path Through The Forest (Version) - The Factory
04   Get On This Plane - The Premiers
05   Scotch on the Socks - The Shadows
06   Quasimoto - The Road Runners
07   Lazy Rebel - Twangy Rebels

Side 2
01   Swinging Drums - Ronny Kae
02   Cuttin' Out - Rockin' Ronald & The Rebels
03   Honky - The Ho-Dads
04   Black Night - Cheryl Thompson
05   Long Line Rider - Bobby Darin
06   Poppin' Popeye - Link Wray & The Ray Men
07   Hot-Rod - King Curtis

Side 3
01   Feels Like A Woman - The Troggs
02   Cuttin' Out - The Pirates
03   Where You Gonna Go - Art Guy
04   Neb's Tune - Ahab & The Wailers
05   Buzzzzzz - Jimmy Gordon
06   Jungle Walk - The Dyna-Sores
07   Surfin' & Swingin' (Shorter Version) (Shorter Version) - Les Brown Jr

Side 4
01   Tahiti - Jimmy & Stan
02   Bawana Jinde - Al Duncan
03   Dead End Part 1 - The Executioners
04   Requiem For Love - Bobbie Gentry & Jody Reynolds
05   3/4 Mash - The Champs
06   El Gato - The Chandelles
07   It's Nothing To Me - Sanford Clark


Ace are thrilled to be working with seminal singer-songwriter, toast of this year's Olivier Awards and all-round Sheffield legend Richard Hawley on this, the first volume of a compilation series of some of his favourite singles. These are a choice selection of 28 7''s that Richard has collected on his travels around the globe, through friends, family, collectors, word of mouth, thrift shop finds, pub jukebox gems and all that's in-between. Richard refers to the glue that joins these selections together as 'Little Bangers' as they are all mini hand grenades, bright lights that explode and fizzle out, some big names, some rarities, some lost souls, some obscurities, some by artists he actively enjoys knowing almost nothing about other than they want to get him on his feet and dance. Many are garage instrumentals, exposing the guitar-line as lead melody and the art of telling a story without lyrics.

As Richard puts it, 'I’m fascinated by the 7-inch single because of the discipline of it. A 7-inch single can only contain a certain amount of information... So, you have to learn the discipline of cramming all that information and craft into a short space of time. If you imagine this album as a piece of bacon, there’s absolutely no fat on it at all. It’s just juicy meat. There aren’t flabby recordings, they are very nimble.'

We're extra proud that the Hendrix Estate have allowed us to include Curtis Knight & The Squires' ferocious and never previously licensed 'Hornet's Nest' which naturally we proudly kick off with and the pace never slackens, taking in the Shadows, Link Wray, The Troggs, The Champs, Jimmy Gordon and so many more besides. It's joyful, it's relentless, and you can listen to it on repeat for a thousand miles. To give Richard the last word, 'My advice to everybody, is keep on the surfboard, motherfucker. These records have kept me on my surfboard for decades, you know what I’m saying?'