Ajate, Dala Toni

(0 avis)

PRE ORDER => 2024 06 07
1LP - 180G

23,00 € 23.0 EUR 23,00 € hors TVA

23,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Label: 180G
Format: 1 LP
Date de parution: 2024


1. Waya Yawa 06:46

2. Iduchihemo 05:59

3. Nagi Yoni 07:49

4. Kopi Lakanka 08:23

5. Roghinaware 09:10


Tokyo based band and Afrobayashi pioneers Ajate are back with their third album: experience the explosive encounter of Afro groove and Japanese traditional Ohayashi music!

During a stay in West Africa in the late 2000’s, Japanese musician Junichiro "John" Imaeda was taken aback by the similarities he felt between the Afrobeat that resonated in the streets of Accra, and the sounds of the "Ohayashi”, the music played during ancestral Japanese festivals, in which John had participated since his childhood.

On his return to the archipelago in 2009, Imaeda created Ajate, a collective of ten passionate musicians. Together they started crafting music that moves from one world to another, with intertwined roots. The drums, flutes and bells are joined by curious instruments handmade by John himself with the essential material of the Japanese countryside: bamboo. The “Jaate”, an amplified xylophone-balafon equipped with piezoelectric sensors on each of its keys, or the “Piechiku”, a bamboo version of the Malian “Ngoni” or the Gnawa “Guembri”, equipped with shamisen strings and connected to an arsenal of guitar pedals, give Ajate an absolutely unique sound. Powerful and catchy Japanese female and male vocals bring the final touch to an incredible groove where Afrobeat and Ohayashi music are woven together so seamlessly that Ajate has managed to capture a truly distinct fusion. The band sings about the power of human connections, the force of being and living all together, the joy of sharing, and the beauty of life. Ajate’s music is a magnificent example of the way sounds are able to migrate in contemporary music.

The band’s explosive live performances have taken Ajate to the most prestigious stages in Japan, such as the Sukiyaki Meets The World and Fuji & Sun festivals. The release on French label 180g of their “Abrada” and “Alo” albums, in 2017 and 2020 respectively, opened the doors to Europe, with memorable shows at the Transmusicales de Rennes festival - followed by a session on KEXP (Seattle, USA) - at Jazz a Vienne, and at WOMAD UK, among many others. With their brand new album “Dala Toni”, Ajate prove once again that they are at the forefront of global music "made in Japan".


Recorded & Mixed by Motoki "Moky" Tanizawa.

Assisted by Kana Tokita.

Recorded at TAGO STUDIO TAKASAKI on 21st & 22nd of October, 2023.

Mastering and lacquer cut by Jukka Sarapää at Timmion Cutting Lab, Helsinki, Finland.

Produced by John Imaeda & Ajate.

LP executive produced by Greg Gouty and Maxime Brottes (180g).

Cover Paintings: Masamichi Kawamura.

Design: notarin graphics.

DALA TONI performers are:

- Junichiro "John" Imaeda : Piechiku (Bamboo guitar), Vocal, Chorus.

- Yukio "Gen" Sato : Vocal, Chorus, Take (Bamboo cylinder).

- Takako Uchida "PEPPERMINT U" : Vocal, Chorus, Tamasudare (A bamboo toy for the traditional busking in Japan).

- Kazuki "Cho-san" Chonan : Shinobue (Japanese bamboo flute).

- Noriko "Nyori" Ota : Jaate (Bamboo xylophone).

- Tomohiko "Kick-Rin" Kikuchi : Bass.

- Yugo Akamatsu : Kane (Japanese traditional metal percussion).

- Keigo "Shin-san" Yamada : Shime-Taiko (Japanese traditional high-pitched drum).

- Masaho "Doncic" Tamura : Ohdo (Japanese traditional low-pitched drum).

- Kenta Takeda : Electric Guitar.


Manufactured and distributed by 180g