Akira Ishikawa Count Buffalo Jazz And Rock Band, Bakishinba: Memories Of Africa

(0 avis)

PRE ORDER => 2023 05 19
1970 => 2023

33,00 € 33.0 EUR 33,00 € hors TVA

33,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Format
  • Date de parution
  • Date de la réedition

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Format: 1 LP
Date de parution: 1970
Date de la réedition: 2023


1. Sandstorm 04:28
2. Sunrise 03:56
3. Flamingo 06:25
4. African Deer 06:19
5. Bakishinba 10:54
6. Mirage 06:03
7. Blue Soul 05:08


Gatefold cover + insert
“An ambitious, brand new album has reached the Japanese jazz scene. It is ‘Bakimba – Memories of Africa.’” This is how AKIRA ISHIKAWA COUNT BUFFALO JAZZ AND ROCK BAND’s album was advertised by the Japanese press in 1970.
The Japanese jazz artists were bravely approaching the rock scene, and their choice became an inspiration to jazz-rock groups like Takeshi Inomata & Sound Limited, Jiro Inagaki and Soul Media, and more. The blending between jazz and rock was born in the United States, thanks to Miles Davis and orchestras like Blood Sweat and Tears and Chicago. This movement resulted in the empowerment of jazz and in the birth of a new musical genre: a perfect mix of jazz, latin influences, and rock.
Akira Ishikawa and Count Buffalo’s jazz-rock band remind of Santana in the way they embody these energies in their album “Bakimba.” Yet, at the same time, they give life to even more impressive musical compositions. This is also thanks to Hiromasa Suzuki’s innovative electric piano.
Often defined as a jazz-rock band, Count Buffalo scales new heights in the context of jazz thanks to the strong rock influences that characterize this work.