Mod Jazz (COLOR)
(0 avis)

BIS => 2 / 3 WEEKS

33,00 € 33.0 EUR 33,00 € hors TVA

33,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Label: KENT
Genre: JAZZ
Format: 2 LP
Date de parution: 2013


A1 Shirley Scott– Soul Shoutin' 3:24
A2 Freddie McCoy– Collard Greens 2:33
A3 Cannonball Adderley Sextet– Tengo Tango 2:23
A4 Mark Murphy– Why Don't You Do Right? 2:31
A5 Jimmy Witherspoon– Money's Gettin' Cheaper 2:50
A6 The Nomos– Step Out And Get It 2:20
B1 Brother Jack McDuff With The Big Band Of Benny Golson– Theme From 'The Carpetbaggers' 2:50
B2 Johnny 'Hammond' Smith*– N. Y. P. D. (Main Theme From The ABC TV Series) 2:19
B3 Billy Hawks– Whip It On Me 3:20
B4 Cal Tjader– Evil Ways 3:06
B5 Mongo Santamaria– Yeh, Yeh! 2:05
B6 Mongo Santamaria– Watermelon Man 2:31
C1 Mose Allison– The Seventh Son 2:40
C2 Otis Spann– I'm Ready 3:07
C3 Willis Jackson– Pool Shark 2:30
C4 Sonny Stitt– Soul Shack 2:58
C5 Eddie Jefferson– Filthy McNasty 3:34
C6 Jimmy Witherspoon– Love Me Right 2:20
C7 Pat Bowie– I've Got Your Number 2:51
D1 Charles Earland– Black Talk 3:36
D2 The Merced Blue Notes– Mama Rufus 1:58
D3 Rusty Bryant– Soul Liberation 3:44
D4 Boogaloo 'Joe' Jones*– Games 4:27
D5 Kenny Burrell– Kenny's Theme 2:47
D6 Brother Jack McDuff With The Big Band Of Benny Golson– Theme From 'The Pink Panther' 5:19


Our first “Mod Jazz” CD, issued in 1996, is now available as a hip vinyl double album in our new HIQLP range. The collection is drawn primarily from the catalogue of East Coast label Prestige, with added tracks from the Riverside, Battle, Galaxy and Fantasy imprints. Not surprisingly, having had first dibs on those great sources, the music is of the highest quality and has not only stood the test of time but has added followers over the years, many of whom were too young to dig those crazy beats first time around. Whenever a new “Mod Jazz” CD is issued, the back catalogue gets a boost, and it’s this first in the series that still tops the sales chart.

Featured are indispensable dance tracks such as Mongo Santamaria’s ‘Yeh-Yeh!’, Shirley Scott’s ‘Soul Shoutin’’, Mose Allison’s ‘Seventh Son’ and ‘Whip It On Me’ by Billy Hawks. There are also laidback, cool vocals via Mark Murphy’s ‘Why Don’t You Do Right?’, Jimmy Witherspoon’s ‘Money’s Gettin’ Cheaper’ and ‘I’ve Got Your Number’ by Pat Bowie. Other highspots include the Otis Spann blues ‘I’m Ready’, Cal Tjader’s superfine ‘Evil Ways’ and the everlovin’ ‘Theme From The Pink Panther’ by Brother Jack McDuff.

This album will be a boon to vinyl DJs who now don’t need to carry a boxful of LPs around when this one will do the job on its own. It will also act as a comfort to those of us who love the visual accompaniment of a revolving turntable and hovering stylus with our vintage jazz grooves.

Pressed on 180g coloured vinyl in heavy duty gatefold sleeve.

By Ady Croasdell