Lou Reed, Words & Music - May 1965 - Deluxe Edition

(0 avis)

BIS => 2 / 3 WEEKS

107,00 € 107.0 EUR 107,00 € hors TVA

107,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.


    I'm Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Demo
    Men of Good Fortune - May 1965 Demo
    Heroin - May 1965 Demo
    Too Late - May 1965 Demo
    Buttercup Song - May 1965 Demo
    Walk Alone - May 1965 Demo
    Buzz Buzz Buzz - May 1965 Demo
    Pale Blue Eyes - May 1965 Demo
    Stockpile - May 1965 Demo
    Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams - May 1965 Demo
    I'm Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Alternate Version
    Gee Whiz - 1958 Rehearsal
    Baby, Let Me Follow You Down - 1963/64 Home Recording
    Michael, Row The Boat Ashore - 1963/64 Home Recording
    Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Partial) - 1963/64 Home Recording
    W & X, Y, Z Blues - 1963/64 Home Recording
    Lou's 12-Bar Instrumental - 1963/64 Home Recording


    * All tracks previously unreleased
    * Produced in partnership with Laurie Anderson and the Lou Reed Archive
    * Inaugural release in Light in the Attic’s Lou Reed Archive Series
    * Features the earliest-known recordings of “I’m Waiting for the Man,” “Pale Blue Eyes" and “Heroin" as made famous by The Velvet Underground
    * Includes seven unheard Lou Reed compositions
    * 45 RPM 2LP set pressed on Audiophile-Quality 180-gram vinyl at RTI
    * Features the only vinyl release of “I’m Waiting for the Man - May 1965 Alternate Version”
    * Remastered from the original analog tapes by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin
    * Package designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike
    * Includes bonus 7-inch record, housed in die-cut picture sleeve containing the first-ever vinyl release of six unheard tracks recorded between 1958 and 1964, including early demos, a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” and a doo-wop serenade recorded in ‘58 when the legendary singer-songwriter was just sixteen-years-old
    * Saddle-stitched, die-cut 28-page book featuring lyrics, archival photos, and liner notes by Greil Marcus, Don Fleming and Jason Stern
    * Archival reproduction of letter written by Reed to Delmore Schwartz, circa 1964
    * Includes CD containing complete audio from the package, housed in die-cut jacket
    * Entire package housed in stylized, die-cut gatefold LP jacket manufactured by Stoughton Printing Co.
    * Foil numbered and limited to 7,500 copies worldwide“Earl was a wonderful man with a great eye for new and innovative art. And such an amusing companion, too.” – Mick Jagger

    Light in the Attic Records, in cooperation with Laurie Anderson, proudly announces the inaugural title in their ongoing Lou Reed Archive Series: Words & Music, May 1965. Released in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America’s true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs—penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a "poor man’s copyright"—remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou’s lasting influence on the development of modern American music - from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.