Lightmen Plus One, Fancy Pants
(0 avis)

BIS => 2 / 3 WEEKS
1971 => 2018

29,00 € 29.0 EUR 29,00 € hors TVA

29,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution
  • Date de la réedition

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Genre: JAZZ
Format: 2 LP
Date de parution: 1971
Date de la réedition: 2018


A1 Sorrow, Bitterness And Revolution (Now He's Gone)
A2 Fancy Pants
A3 On The Road Home
B1 Blue Tip
B2 Hope
B3 Song Of Praise
B4 Ujimma
B5 Ashie
C1 Sorrow Bitterness And Revolution (Now He's Gone) (Mono)
C2 Fancy Pants (Mono)
C3 On The Road Home (Mono)
D1 Blue Tip (Mono)
D2 Hope (Mono)
D3 Song Of Praise (Mono)
D4 Ujimma (Mono)
D5 Ashie (Mono)


Drummer, bandleader and activist Bubbha Thomas had toured America with R&B revues, served as a session musician for Peacock and Back Beat Records, and played straight ahead jazz with legends before the political and social upheaval of the late 1960s led him to a path first charted by Coltrane. Fancy Pants is his second LP with his Lightmen band and, like the deep-set, maverick jazz issued by the likes of Tribe and Strata East, is amongst the best of the 1970s jazz underground, a collective voice of resistance to the musical and cultural status quo.

This is the first time that Fancy Pants has seen reissue, and it is presented in both the issued stereo and previously unissued mono mixes as a double LP. This reissue was remastered from Bubbha’s original master tapes. Bubbha and his band’s story is told in great detail by Houston music and cultural historian Lance Scott Walker (Houston Rap / Houston Rap Tapes) and Now-Again’s Eothen Alapatt, in a booklet that contains dozens of unpublished photographs. Download card for WAV files and videos of numerous 1970s performances also included.

This anthology produced by Eothen Alapatt. Associate production by Mark Taylor. Liner notes by Lance Scott Walker and Eothen Alapatt, with a contribution by Flash Parks.

Tape and vinyl transfers, restoration and remastering by Dave Cooley for Elysian Masters, Los Angeles, USA. Select tape transfers by Len Horowitz for History of Recorded Sound, Los Angeles, USA.

Lacquered by Chris Potter at Electric Mastering, London, UK.

Art Direction by Errol Richardson.

Licensed courtesy Bubbha Thomas.