Junie Morrison, Junie’ Live At Dooley's - 1975

(0 avis)

PRE ORDER => 2023 10 27

33,00 € 33.0 EUR 33,00 € hors TVA

33,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Label: P-VINE
Format: 1 LP
Date de parution: 2023


A1. Junie II 

A2. Pain; Cookies Will Get You; Pleasure; Ecstasy 

A3. Musical Son 

A4. Fopp 

A5. (Standing on) Shakey Ground 

B1. Oh Me Oh My (I'm A Fool For You Baby) 

B2. Surrender 

B3. Tightrope; Super Groupie

 B4. Super J 

B5. Granny's Funky Rolls Royce


★ FFO: Ohio Players / P-Funk 

★ Pressed on vinyl for the first time 

★ With Japanese OBI-Strip

Excavated from the halls of funk! 

A newly discovered live album from the late great Junie Morrison! 1975 was a transitional year for \former Ohio Players and future P-Funk keyboardist Junie Morrison. He had just left the former band after working on a trio of releases that would catapult the funk band to fame, and his burgeoning solo career was just beginning to take off. Recorded at Dooley’s in Lansing, Michigan, this live album was likely recorded just after his fantastic second solo album Freeze. This performance focuses on songs from Freeze, such as the incredibly groovy opening track “Junie II”. The rhythm section are perfectly at home in the pocket, with Junie’s keyboards and charismatic vocals floating effortlessly over horn rhythms. This is followed up by a medley of the Ohio Players’ best songs, “Pain; Cookies Will Get You; Please; Ecstasy” played at a breakneck tempo. Junie’s synthesizer lines are something of a forerunner to the cosmic funk he would play with Parliament, but hearing the Players’ iconic songs as a medley is enough to justify getting this record! Of course, don’t miss the covers of Aretha Franklin’s “Oh Me Oh My (I’m A Fool For You Baby)”, Diana Ross’s “Surrender”, and The Temptations’ “Shakey Ground”! This album, put on vinyl for the first time ever is a must-have for all fans of funk!