CUBA: Music and Revolution, Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol.1
(0 avis)

2021 01 22

31,00 € 31.0 EUR 31,00 € hors TVA

31,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.


    1. Grupo Irakere – Chequere Son

    2. Conjunto Rumbavana – El Son Del Campeon

    3. Juan Formell & Los Van Van – Mi Ritmo Caliente

    4. Grupo Monumental – Mi Son Caridad

    5. Grupo de Experimentación Sonora del ICAIC – Sondeando

    6. Las D'Aida – Con Cadencia y Con Dulzura

    7. Juan Formell & Los Van Van – Y No Le Conviene

    8. Pablo Milanés – Te Quiero Porque Te Quiero

    9. Emíliano Salvador – Luna Wanestain

    10. Los Reyes 73 – Un Lamento Hecho Cancion

    11. Eduardo Ramos – Vocación Revolución

    12. Grupo Mounmental – Hasta Las Cuantas

    13. Los 5 U 4 – Solo Esta Musica

    14. Grupo de Experimentación Sonora del ICAIC –Canción Con Todos

    15. Orquesta Los Van Van – Yo Se Que Van Van

    16. Grupo Mounmental – Nadie Se Siente Cansado

    17. Orquesta Ritmo Oriental – Maria, Baila El Son

    18. Juan Pablo Torres y Algo Nuevo – Rompe Cocorioco

    19. Los Reyes 73 – Grandes Amigos

    20. Paquito D'Rivera – La Patica

    21. Grupo de Experimentación Sonora del ICAIC – Grifo

    22. Raúl Gómez – Dacapo

    23. Grupo Irakere – Juana 1600


    Cuba: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1 is a new album compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records) that explores the many new styles that emerged in Cuba in the 1970s as Jazz, Funk, Brazilian Tropicalia and even Disco mixed together with Latin and Salsa on the island as Cuban artists experimented with new musical forms created in the unique socialist state. 

    The album comes as a heavyweight triple vinyl and deluxe double CD, complete with extensive sleeve notes, and is jam-packed with heavy bass lines, synth and Wah-Wah guitar funk combined with the heavyweight percussion, powerful brass lines and the all-encompassing Latin rhythms of Cuban music known throughout the world.

    The album is released to coincide with the massive new deluxe large format book Cuba: Music and Revolution: Original Cover Art of Cuban Music: Record Sleeve Designs of Revolutionary Cuba 1959-90, published in November, which is also compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records), and which features the music and record designs of Cuba, made in the 30-year period following the Cuban Revolution. 

    The music on this album features legendary Cuban groups such as Irakere, Los Van Van and Pablo Milanés as well as a host of lesser known artists such as the radical Grupo De Experimentación, Juan Pablo Torres and Algo Nuevo, Grupo Monumental and Orquesta Ritmo Oriental, groups whose names remain largely unknown outside of Cuba owing to the now 60-year old US trade embargo which remains in place today and which prevents trade with Cuba – and thus most Cuban records were only ever available in Cuba or in ex-Soviet Union states.

    The music on this album reflects the most cutting-edge of Cuban groups that were recording in Cuba in the 1970s and 1980s – who were all searching for a new Cuban identity and new musical forms that reflected both the Afro-Cuban cultural heritage of a nation that gave birth to Latin music – and its new position as a socialist state. Most of the music featured on this album has never been heard outside of Cuba.

    Cuba: Music and Revolution is the third book that Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker have collaborated on together and follows on from their two earlier critically acclaimed books, Freedom, Rhythm and Sound (Revolutionary Jazz Music in the 1960s and 1970s) and Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s, both of which also had related album releases on Soul Jazz Records.

    Both Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker have been involved in Cuban music for more than two decades – Gilles Peterson with his many Havana Cultura projects for his Brownswood label and Stuart Baker with a number of Soul Jazz Records albums recorded in Cuba. This Soul Jazz Records album is released in conjunction with Egrem, the Cuban state record company, and has been put together after the many crate-digging trips that both compilers have made on the streets of Havana and beyond in Cuba stretching over a 20-year period, searching out rare and elusive original Cuban vinyl records.