Arthur Baker presents Breaker’s Revenge, Original B-Boy and B-Girl Breakdance Classics 1970-84
(0 avis)

PRE ORDER => 2024 06 14

33,00 € 33.0 EUR 33,00 € hors TVA

33,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Genre
  • Genre
  • Genre
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Format: 2 LP
Date de parution: 2024


1. Dennis Coffey and The Detroit Guitar Band - Scorpio

2. The Jimmy Castor Bunch - It's Just Begun

3. B.T. Express - Energy Level

4. James Brown - Get On The Good Foot

5. Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force - Planet Rock

6. Manu Dibango - Soul Makossa

7. Esther Williams - Last Night Changed It All

8. The Mohawks - The Champ

9. Herman Kelly & Life - Dance To The Drummer’s Beat

10. SpankyWilson-SunshineofYourLove

11. JamesBrown-GiveItUpOrTurnitALoose

12. Candido-Soulwanco

13. ArthurBaker-Breaker'sRevenge

14. ManuDibango-ThePanther

15. AbacoDream-LifeandDeathinG&A

16. TheJackson5-DancingMachine

17. MongoSantamaria-CloudNine

18. EdwinStarr-IJustWannaDoMyThing

19. BadderThanEvil-HotWheels


“What I truly loved about early Hip-Hop was that the music thrown down by ‘Bam, Grandmaster Flash, Jazzy Jay and Kool DJ Herc was genre-less, multi-cultural, music from all ends of the world. This is the definitive collection, including all the classics (other than a couple that alas we couldn’t get the rights to), and some real hard to find obscurities.” Arthur Baker

Compiled by legendary producer Arthur Baker, ‘Breakers Revenge’ is a near-definitive collection of original Funk, Soul, Latin, Disco and Electro classic tracks from 1970-1984.

These tracks, a combination of classics and obscurities, have all since become legendary to Breakdancers everywhere. First played at South Bronx block parties, community halls and park jams in the 1970s and 80s, spun endlessly by the first three major hip-hop DJs – Kool Herc, Grandmaster Flash and Afrika Bambaataa – and found in the record crates of any DJ of note ever since.

Seminal funk and soul tracks such as Dennis Coffey’s ‘Scorpio’, The Jimmy Castor Bunch’s ‘It’s Just Begun’, James Brown’s ‘Get on the Good Foot’, The Mohawks’ ‘Champ’ sit side-by-side here with the ground-breaking, classic electro of Afrika Bambaataa’s ‘Planet Rock’, and Arthur Baker’s own definitive ‘Breaker’s Revenge.’

Breakdancing has come a long way from its New York roots to its respected position as an art form today where, for the first time ever, it is to be featured in the Olympics held in Paris this August 2024.

The ‘breakbeat’ remains at the very heart of hip-hop, the mercurial funk, soul and disco tracks, always 100% guaranteed to get B-Boys, B-Girls and Breakdancers moving at any block party, with the percussive breakdown of each track the pinnacle soundtrack to any dance/battle between Breakdancers of any note.

Similarly these tracks have been sampled many 1000s of times over by every hip-hop artist and producer of note. KRS-ONE, Marley Marl, Kanye West, Jay-Z, Public Enemy, Eric B, The Fugees, Outkast, Mos Def, Main Source, Jungle Brothers, LL Cool J, De La Soul and, well, everyone!

Compiler Arthur Baker played a pivotal role in hip-hop history when in 1982 he produced Afrika Bambaataa’s seminal ‘Planet Rock’ (as featured here), introducing electronic instruments into hip-hop for the first time ever and in the process created electro. After ‘Planet Rock’, Arthur Baker went on to remix or produce every major artist of note – from New Order to the Rolling Stones, Al Green to the Pet Shop Boys. This Soul Jazz Records vinyl release is presented as a deluxe gatefold double vinyl with two bespoke inner sleeves and download code, and the double CD comes in a digi-case with full notes and booklet. Both formats come complete with an introduction by Arthur Baker, extensive sleevenotes, including a track-by-track breakdown by hip-hop historian JayQuan, and striking images from photographer Sophie Bramly.