Cuarteto Yemaya, El Tic Tac
(0 avis)

BIS => 2 / 3 WEEKS
1971 => 2023

21,00 € 21.0 EUR 21,00 € hors TVA

21,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

  • Statut
  • Label
  • Genre
  • Format
  • Date de parution
  • Date de la réedition

Cette combinaison n'existe pas.

Genre: LATIN
Format: 1 LP
Date de parution: 1971
Date de la réedition: 2023


1. Flaca Y Despeinada 

2. Compay Gallo 

3. Toribio Carambola 

4. Oye Mi Guitarra 

5. Me Voy A Monsefu 

6. Sandunguéate 

7. Descarga Yemaya 

8. El Tic Tac 

9. Fea Y Flaca 

10. Oye Mi Son 

11. Mi Provinciana 

12. Yo Me Voy De Aqui 


The guitarist Francisco "Pancho" Acosta Angeles (1946) played a significant role in spreading love for Cuban rhythms across Peru, those sunshine beats breaking through the cloudiness that hangs over Lima most of the year, as the city bears a closer resemblance weather wise to London than to Havana. In 1967, after making a name for himself with his six-stringed skill, he made his vinyl debut with Compay Quinto. Shortly after Pancho left Company Quinto, he joined Los Kintos. When Los Kintos disbanded, Pancho Acosta swiftly moved on to his next project for MAG: the Cuarteto Yemayá, formed by tumba drummer and singer Miguel Montoya, bassist Máximo Pecho and timba drummer José Luis Fiallega, all under Pancho's direction and arrangements. The quartet's debut album, Ecos del Trio Matamoros, was a tribute to the Cuban trio of the title and comprised cover versions as well as a couple of their own songs. This is the quartet's second LP, recorded between July and August 1971. El Tic Tac contains mostly Peruvian songs. The foreign versions on the album include the classic "Compay Gallo," written by Miguel Matamoros; "Toribio carambola" and "El Tic Tac," from the repertoire of the Cuban Trio Servando Diaz; and "Sandunguéate," best known in Celia Cruz's version. "Oye Mi Son" and "Oye Mi Guitarra" were composed by the album's lead vocalist, Miguel Montoya. Percussionist Jorge Mariazza (Los Pachas, Manzanita y su Conjunto) co-wrote "Descarga Yemayá" with Pancho, which features outstanding conga and timbales playing. Pancho also composed tracks on his own: "Me Voy a Monsefú," "Mi Provinciana," "Yo Me Voy de Aquí" and "Flaca y Fea," the latter with a Beatle-like intro where his Japanese electric guitar reaches vertiginous heights (he never used sound effects in his recordings). Cuarteto Yemayá released one more album for MAG. In 1973 Los Kintos reformed, with the addition of the bass, percussionist and guitarist from Cuarteto Yemayá. Pancho Acosta has continued his career as a composer and arranger to this day.