Lokkhi Terra, Cubangla

(0 avis)

2021 02 12

21,00 € 21.0 EUR 21,00 € hors TVA

21,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.


    01: Kala Re 04:09

    02: Como 08:58

    03: Bhromor 04:30

    04: Lal Mere 05:18

    05: Badaam 05:09

    06: Cubangla0 5:58

    07: Kon Kole Revisited 07:05

    08: Bhandari Revisited 04:27


    Funkiwala Records presents CUBANGLA - the sixth album by London fusionistas LoKkhi TeRra.

    Following on from their hugely successful collaboration with UK afro-beat ambassador Dele Sosimi on 2018's "Cubafrobeat"(mixing afrobeat and Cuban Rumba/Timba), this album sees them return to their Bangla-Afro- Latin-Jazz-Roots.

    8 tracks of 21st century London groove – from Sufi Samba to Baul Blues to Bengali folk-Son to Bangla Roots Reggae to London Descargas - recorded in between tours, sessions and collaborations – a true celebration of traditions taking on new forms as they travel and co-exist. In these divided times, their collective musical journey has never been so relevant.


    Kishon Khan's Lokkhi Terra have been blending the musical traditions that surround them in London, for many years now.

    "Stunning Headliners... A majestic multi-cultural blend of sounds... effortlessly builds bridges between rolling Indian raga rhythms, Afro-Cuban grooves, Acid Jazz/funk and free flowing improvisation" (Timeout London).

    The band is composed of musicians who take seriously the different languages of the different genres they mix. Each in their own right play with calibre purist outfits. Members have collaborated with the likes of Hugh Masekela, Tony Allen, Ibrahim Ferrer, Johnny Clarke, Orlando Poleo, Africa Express, Jazz Jamaica, Ska Cubano, Giles Peterson's Havana Cultura, Kyle Eastwood, Bellowhead, Akram Khan to name a very few.

    The tracks on this album were gigged for a number of years before being recorded, with the exception of the last 2 tracks which were recorded in 2015 just before performing at Womad and Songlines Encounters.

    With CUBANGLA the band has come round full circle – a journey that started a decade ago with their debut No Visa Required (2010). An urban London view on the musical world.