Leon Thomas, Spirits Known And Unknown

(0 avis)

1969 => 2022

29,00 € 29.0 EUR 29,00 € hors TVA

29,00 € hors TVA

Not Available For Sale

    Cette combinaison n'existe pas.


    A1 The Creator Has A Master Plan (Peace) 4:23
    A2 One 3:07
    A3 Echoes 5:38
    A4 Song For My Father
    B1 Damn Nam (Ain't Goin' To Vietnam) 4:42
    B2 Malcolm's Gone 8:35
    B3 Let The Rain Fall On Me 5:24


    Leon Thomas debut as a leader was this classic of spiritual jazz recorded for Bob Thiel’s Flying Dutchman label. Originally pressed in 1969 it features an all-star band including Pharoah Sanders (under the name Little Rock), Lonnie Liston Smith (piano), James Spaulding (alto sax), Cecil McBee (bass), Roy Haynes (drums) and Richard Landrum (bongos). "Spirits Known And Unknown" features versions of ‘The Creator Has A Master Plan (Peace)’, the classic ‘Song For My Father’, ‘One’, ‘Echoes’ and the topical ‘Damn Nam (Ain’t Goin’ To Vietnam)’. Subtitled New Vocal Frontiers upon release the rear sleeve noted than “Thomas is searching as far into himself as he can go for spirits known and unknown and is creating new dimensions of vocal expressiveness to bring these spirits – these feelings – into the experience of others.” The fact that this album is hailed as a classic, shows that he succeeded. Pressed on 180gm vinyl we have remained faithful to the original pressing replicating the Flying Dutchman label style and gatefold sleeve.